Service with a smile or wifi?

As I sit and type away on my MacBook, my hair stylist yells over, “Ok Laurie, time to rinse you.” And for some reason on this very gloomy, rainy Friday afternoon in Ft. Lauderdale, the skies parted in the imaginary text bubble I always picture above my head – and I realized that I had experienced a paradigm shift without even realizing it.

By definition (because people are ALWAYS asking me to be clear to the most casual observer) a Paradigm Shift is a change from one way of thinking to another. It’s a revolution, a transformation, a sort of metamorphosis. It just does not happen, but rather it is driven by agents of change.

So as I sit in the hair salon on this very busy Friday afternoon, it hit me like a flying set of hot rollers – I now seek services at establishments that offer wifi. To clarify, yes, because I own my own company and can work from anywhere (provided there is wifi) – I choose to get my hair done on a Friday – I have been doing this for as long as I can remember.

Brace for a tangent: I absolutely can not stand the idea of sitting at a hair salon for 3 to 4 hours on a Saturday. When I first started building Conceptual Communications in 2008, a vey wise person told me – be conscious of how you leverage your time. So I figure, I have to sit there so I may as well kill two birds with one stone and work allowing me to earn $$, to pay for things (like my expensive trips to the salon) AND now free up more time (ie the Saturdays I am not at the hair salon) to spend with family and friends.

Image

So having recently realized the full scale of this paradigm shift – I beg the question – service with a smile or internet service?

In addition to my hair salon, I find myself visiting McDonald’s more frequently than ever before. Why? Cause I LOVE their unhealthy food – Not exactly. Because there is one on every corner and McDonald’s offers FREE WIFI.

My advice – download an app that tells you where to find FREE WIFI – one recommendation is JIWIRE. You can easily search JiWire’s registry of 824,555 free and pay Wi-Fi locations in 145 countries.

Leave a Reply

